Judith Liebman Award - Application Process

Candidates for the award must be members in good standing of the Institute, and have been a member for at least one (1) year. A candidate for the Judith Liebman Award must have been a "moving spirit" in his or her student chapter. In addition, qualifications may be satisfied by a candidate:

  • Forming a student chapter
  • Revitalizing a dormant student chapter
  • Initiating special events and initiatives with student chapter
  • Vigorous involvement with various student chapter activities, events, and INFORMS committee or council service, and/or as a student chapter officer.

Candidates can be nominated by student chapter members, faculty advisors, and/or other observers. The work of some candidates would be known through the observers, e.g., the Chapters and Forums Committee (as in the case of a nominee who has led efforts to form or revive a student chapter.) Self-nominations are also welcomed.   Past Judith Liebman Award recipients are ineligible to receive the award, and their nominations will not be considered.

Nominations must be received at least eight-weeks prior to the annual meeting of INFORMS, and submitted to the Chapters and Forums Committee in care of the INFORMS office. All relevant information, including the candidate's qualifications along with a statement describing how the nominee is a "moving spirit" in the chapter.



Chelsea Teimoori
5521 Research Park Drive, Suite 200
Catonsville, MD 21228 U.S.A.
e-mail: [email protected]

Selection of recipients will be based on the recipients' contributions to their chapters and to INFORMS through chapter activities. Eligible submissions submitted by the deadline will be evaluated by the Chapters and Forums Committee.  The Chapters and Forums Committee will determine a relative ranking of the deserving based on the above criteria.

The number of the candidates to be selected for the award in a given year will be determined at the discretion of the Vice President for Chapters/Student Chapters and Forums. No more than three candidates, each from different student chapters, will be selected for the award annually. There is no obligation to give any awards in a given year.