INFORMS Scholarship

2021 - Winner(s)

2021 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

INFORMS is pleased to announce scholarships for undergraduate students to attend the 2022 INFORMS Annual Meeting in Indianapolis, IN, October 16-19, 2022.  This scholarship program aims to foster the professional pipeline of operations research, management science, and analytics researchers by providing undergraduate students an opportunity to experience these exciting fields and gain professional development opportunities by attending the annual meeting.

Scholarships will provide travel and registration reimbursements up to $1,250.

We encourage self-nominations from undergraduate students across a variety of quantitative disciplines, including (but not limited to): mathematics, engineering, computer science, statistics, business, and economics. This scholarship is aimed at two types of undergraduate students:

  1. those already engaged in operations research and management science studies and/or research projects, and
  2. those who have had little to no training in traditional OR/MS courses, but are considering pursuing graduate studies in this area, e.g., a third year undergraduate math major who is contemplating their post-graduation plans.

The awardees will be provided with a recommended schedule to help them enjoy and learn from the conference and other scholarship winners. Specific activities may include:

  • Meeting with ambassador graduate students
  • Meetings with committee members and INFORMS Staff
  • Attending plenaries, selected talks/posters, and tutorials
  • Attending new member breakfast
  • Attending INFORMS Welcome Reception
  • Attending INFORMS society meetings  


  • Junior or senior undergraduate student standing at the time of the Annual Meeting, October 16-19, 2022.
  • An overall GPA equivalent to 3.25 or better on a 4.0 system. 

Application Requirements

An application requires:

  • the student's one-page CV or resume
  • the student's transcript (an unofficial copy is fine)
  • a one-page essay written by the student detailing interest in operations research, management science and/or analytics
  • a letter of recommendation from a faculty member. 

The deadline for applications is August 7, 2022. Applications should be submitted through the INFORMS submission portal.

Start your submission

The INFORMS Scholarships Committee (listed below) will evaluate and select the scholarship recipients.

Ruben Proano, Rochester institute of Technology
2022 Committee Chair

Past Awardees

2021 Winner(s)
Indira Brown, Purdue University Jesse Contreras, Oregon State University Isidore Sossa, University of Nebraska at Omaha Madeleine Pollack, Georgia Institute of Technology
2020 Winner(s)
Mohammad Amir Ahmadian, Sharif University of Technology Isaac Bleecker, Gordon College Imani Carson, University of Michigan Kara Combs, Wright State University Sadie Cox, University of Michigan Helena García Jaimlais, Universidad Adolfo Ibañez Agustín Chiu Lopez, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile Abel Sapirstein, Harvey Mudd College Santhosh Saravanan, Georgia Institute of Technology Emmett Springer, University of Michigan Macarena Paz Navarro Tabilo, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
Shengwei Zhang, Johns Hopkins University
2019 Winner(s)
Elisa Danthinne, Northeastern University Michael Gao, Harvey Mudd College Angela Lin, Rice University Luiza Santo, Texas Tech University
2018 Winner(s)
Vinayak (Vinny) Ahluwalia, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor Dipayan Banerjee, Northwestern University Caroline Margaret Johnston, USC Hemeng (Maggie) Li, Harvey Mudd College