2024 UPS George D. Smith Prize

Is your university program world class in the fields of operations research, management science (OR/MS), and analytics? If you're passionate about empowering the next generation of data-driven decision-makers and problem solvers, the UPS George D. Smith Prize is the recognition that your academic program deserves. 

Top Five Reasons to Apply for the UPS George D. Smith Prize

How to Apply

2024 Applications Deadline December 3, 2023 (11:59pm Pacific) 

Applications include program history, the parent academic institution, the number of students enrolled and annually graduated in the program, and the nature of degrees given. Additionally, the role of operations research and advanced analytics in the program, and why competency in operations research practice is at least one of the goals of the program, and faculty familiarity and competence in operations research, management science, and analytics practice. A description of what is innovative in their program in regards to O.R. and analytics practitioner preparation should also be included. 

Read the full list of applicaiton requirements

What Happens If My Program is a Finalist?

If your program is selected as one of the 2024 UPS George D. Smith Prize finalists, you will give your presentation live at the 2024 INFORMS Business Analytics Conference in Orlando, Florida, on Sunday, April 14, 2024. The winner will be announced at the Edelman Gala on Monday evening, and will give a reprise of their presentation the next day, and at the 2024 INFORMS Annual Meeting in Seattle.

What Other Programs Have Won the UPS George D. Smith Prize?

Previous program winners include:

  • Purdue University, Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr. School of Business
  • Eindhoven University of Technology, Master of Industrial and Applied Mathematics
  • University of Iowa, Department of Business Analytics
  • Queens's University - Smith School of Business (Canada)
  • University of Cincinnati - Operations, Business Analytics and Information Systems Department
  • MS in Business Analytics Program, Haslam College of Business, University of Tennesee
  • H. John Heinz III College of Information Systems and Public Policy at Carnegie Mellon University
  • U.S. Air Force Academy, Operations Research Program
  • Sauder School of Business, University of British Columbia - Center for Operations Excellence
  • MIT Leaders for Global Operations (LGO)
  • Naval Postgraduate School
  • Tauber Institute for Global Operations at University of Michigan

Watch the presentation from the 2023 winner, Purdue University

Click here to submit for the 2024 UPS George D. Smith Prize