Women in Operations Research – Bayer Scholarship


2018 Winner(s)

The Analytics Society of the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) is pleased to announce Kahkashan Afrin as the winner of the inaugural Women in Operations Research – Bayer Scholarship for 2018.

Kahkashan is a Ph.D. student at Texas A&M University focusing on data analytics with applications in healthcare prognosis. The $1,300 scholarship allowed Kahkashan to attend the recent INFORMS Annual Meeting in Phoenix, where she was recognized during the Analytics Society business meeting by Shrikant Jarugumilli, Operations Research Lead for the Crop Science Division of Bayer, and Jack Levis, Society president.

“INFORMS Annual Meeting 2018 was one of the largest and most influential conferences that I have had a chance to attend thus far. Along with presenting my work and getting valuable feedback from experts in my area, I also got to connect with several other researchers in a variety of fields. INFORMS provides a wonderful opportunity for Ph.D. students to diversify the outlook for their future research and career growth and build a strong network across a broad research spectrum,” said Kahkashan.

She continued: “I am sincerely grateful to Bayer and the Analytics Society of INFORMS for making it possible. Their effort in promoting women in STEM through this scholarship is truly commendable, and I hope that it will benefit many more students in the years to come.”

The scholarship competition, which was open to female graduate students interested in the practice of operations research or analytics, drew a strong field of 20 applicants from the United States and three other countries.

Purpose of the Award

Are you a female graduate student interested in the practice of operations research or analytics who would like to attend the INFORMS Annual Meeting?  Apply when the competition is announced in advance of the annual meeting.  One well qualified individual will be selected to receive $1,300 to cover registration and travel expenses to attend the conference.

To apply, you must be a female pursuing either a Master’s degree or Ph.D. in operations research, analytics, or a related field and be close to graduation.  In addition, you must be a member of the Analytics Society of INFORMS (INFORMS student members can join the society for free by selecting “Renew or Add Items for 2018” from the INFORMS Self Service Center accessible at www.informs.org).

Applicants will be judged based on the following criteria:

  • Strength of Statement of Purpose, explaining how you would benefit from this opportunity
  • Strength of Letter of Recommendation from your advisor or department head
  • Strength of your resume or CV
  • Level of your service to or involvement with INFORMS.

Preference will be given to Ph.D. students, individuals pursuing broad-based degrees or areas of research and individuals with industrial internship experiences.

About the Award/Namesake

About Bayer

Bayer is a Life Science company with a more than 150-year history and core competencies in the areas of health care and agriculture. With our innovative products, we are contributing to finding solutions to some of the major challenges of our time.


About the Analytics Society of INFORMS

The Analytics Society is a subdivision of INFORMS, the largest international association of operations research (O.R.) and analytics professionals and students.  The society promotes the integration of a wide range of analytical techniques and supports activities that illuminate significant innovations and achievements in the growing field of analytics.

Past Awardees

2018 Winner(s)
Kahkashan Afrin , Texas A&M University