Best Publication Award

Nomination Deadline:

2017 - Winner(s)

2017 Winner(s)

2017 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

This award is for outstanding contributions to the field of applied probability. The award is accompanied by a plaque and a $1,000 honorarium. The Award is given once every two years.

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information


Kavita Ramanan
Division of Applied Mathematics, Brown University

David Gamarnik
MIT Sloan School of Management

Bert Zwart
CWI The Netherlands

Past Awardees

2017 Winner(s)
Jim Dai, Cornell University
Itai Gurvich, Cornell University
Anton Braverman, Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University
Jiekun Feng, Cornell University
Siva Theja Maguluri, Georgia Tech
Rayadurgam Srikant, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2015 Winner(s)
Mohsen Bayati, Stanford University, Graduate School of Business Marc Lelarge , INRIA-ENS, France Andrea Montanari, Stanford University, Department of Electrical Engineering and Department of Statistics
2013 Winner(s)
Devavrat Shah, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Jinwoo Shin
2011 Winner(s)
David Gamarnik, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management Dmitriy Katz-Rogozhnikov, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2009 First Place
Jose Blanchet, Columbia University Peter Glynn, Stanford University Jingchen Liu, Columbia University
2007 First Place
H. Chrisitian Gromoll, University of Virginia, Department of Mathematics Amber L. Puha, California State University Ruth J. Williams, University of California - San Diego
2005 First Place
Ayalvadi Ganesh, Microsoft Research Neil O'Connell, University of College Cork Damon Wischik, Royal Society Research Fellow, University College London
2004 First Place
Alexander Stolyar, Bell Laboratories / Alcatel-Lucent
2001 First Place
Edward G. Coffman, Jr., NJIT Anatolii A. Puhalskii, University of Colorado - Boulder Martin I. Reiman, Columbia University
1999 First Place
Muhammed El-Taha, University of Southern Maine, Dept. of Mathematics & Statistics Shaler Stidham, Jr., University of North Carolina
1997 First Place
Jim Dai, Cornell University
1995 First Place
Sean Meyn, University of Illinois Richard Tweedie, Division of Biostatistics, University of Minnesota