Seth Bonder Scholarship for Applied Operations Research in Health Services

2023 - Winner(s)

2023 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

Seth Bonder Logo The purpose of the Bonder Scholarship for Applied Operations Research in Health Services is to promote the development and application of process modeling and operations research analyses to health care design, delivery and operations. The scholarship provides funding of $5,000 ($US) to support the development of highly qualified individuals and promote the interchange of health services research knowledge in conjunction with INFORMS.

The Bonder Scholarship consists of an award of $4,000 ($US) that is intended to provide financial support for a promising new researcher. In addition, the scholarship recipient will be eligible for up to $1,000 ($US) of travel funding to support his or her participation in Health Application Section activities at the annual INFORMS conference. An additional $2,000 ($US) award is provided and funded by the Seth Bonder Foundation.  INFORMS will waive the Annual Meeting registration fee for the scholarship recipient. The tenure of the award is one year.

Application process:

Click here for more information. 

About the Award/Namesake

Seth Bonder Scholarship for Applied Operations Research in Health Services

INFORMS records with sorrow the passing on October 29, 2011 of Dr. Seth Bonder after a long illness. Dr. Bonder was a longtime friend of INFORMS and its predecessor society, the Operations Research Society of America, which he served as its president. Dr. Bonder not only endowed two INFORMS scholarships that bear his name; he also took a strong, encouraging interest in the work of the scholarship recipients who came to his attention because of their excellence. His work in national defense and telemedicine made him a much sought after consultant by government and private industry alike. INFORMS, its board, administration, and members, mourn his loss.

Learn more about Seth Bonder »

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Yuming Sun, Georgia Tech
2022 Winner(s)
Katherine Adams, University of Wisconsin - Madison
2021 Winner(s)
Luke DeRoos, University of Michigan
2020 Winner(s)
 Arielle Anderer , University of Pennsylvania
2019 Winner(s)
David Mildebrath, Rice University
2018 Winner(s)
Gian-Gabriel P. Garcia, University of Michigan – Ann Arbor
2017 Awardee(s)
Justin Boutilier, University of Toronto
2016 Awardee(s)
Alba C. Rojas-Cordova
2015 Winner(s)
Hadi El-Amine, Virginia Tech
2014 Winner(s)
Jónas Oddur Jónasson, London Business School
2013 Winner(s)
Pooyan Kazemian, University of Michigan – Ann Arbor
2012 Awardee(s)
Amin Khademi, University of Pittsburgh
2012 Honorable Mention
Vijay Pappu, University of Florida
2011 Awardee(s)
Lauren Cipriano, Stanford University
2010 Awardee(s)
Turgay Ayer, Georgia Institute of Technology
2009 Awardee(s)
Murat Kurt, University of Pittsburgh
2008 Awardee(s)
Minsum Kim, University of Washington
2007 Awardee(s)
Burhaneddin Sandikci, University of Pittsburgh
2006 Awardee(s)
Mariel Lavieri, University of Michigan
2005 Awardee(s)
Elisa Long
2004 Awardee(s)
Steven Shechter, University of Pittsburgh
2003 Awardee(s)
Stephen Resch, Harvard Center for Risk Analysis
2002 Awardee(s)
Xuanming Su, University of California - Berkeley, Haas School of Business