Minority Issues Forum Student Poster Competition

2020 Winner(s)

Winning material: Poster title: Data-Driven Ranges of Near Optimal Choices for Personalized Hypoertension Treatment Plans

Purpose of the Award

The purpose of the MIF student poster competition is to highlight and promote the research of underrepresented students, student advisors and members of MIF.  While the MIF poster session has been in place since 2004, the poster competition began in 2012. 

The competition takes place during the MIF reception at INFORMS.  Final judging takes place live by a panel of distinguished “celebrity judges”.  The first place winner and finalists are announced at the end of the reception.  The first place winner receives a monetary award. 

Furthermore, since 2004 MIF has sponsored the travel of underrepresented minority doctoral students close to finishing who participate in the poster session.

Application Process

Past Awardees

2020 Winner(s)
Wesley J. Marrero Colón, University of Michigan - Department of Industrial & Operations Engineering
2020 Honorable Mention
Nigel Pugh, North Carolina A&T State University
2019 Winner(s)
Benjamin F. Morrow Jr., North Carolina A&T State University
2018 Winner(s)
Destenie Nock, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA
Donald Richardson, University of Michigan – Ann Arbor
2017 First Place
Gian-Gabriel P. Garcia, University of Michigan – Ann Arbor
2017 Honorable Mention
Toyya Pujol, Georgia Institute of Technology
Donald Richardson, University of Michigan – Ann Arbor
Lauren Steimle, University of Michigan – Ann Arbor
2016 First Place
Alba C. Rojas-Cordova
2015 Winner(s)
Maya Bam, University of Michigan
2015 Honorable Mention
Wesley Marrero, University of Michigan
Shadi Hassani-Goodarzi, North Carolina State University
2014 Winner(s)
Weihong Guo, University of Michigan
2014 Honorable Mention
Nisha Nataraj, North Carolina State University
2013 Winner(s)
Selin Merdan, University of Michigan
2012 Winner(s)
Gabriel Zayas-Caban, Cornell University