Paper Competition

2023 Winner(s)

Winning material: Learning Product Rankings Robust to Fake Users

2023 Winner(s)

Winning material: Monitoring Policy in the Context of Preventive Treatment of Cardiovascular Disease

Purpose of the Award

The purpose of the paper competition is to  promote and bring visibility to recent contributions of MIF members in the field of operations research, management science, or information systems.  The paper competition has been in place since 2016.  Submissions must have been accepted or published within the past 2 years of the of the award year and are judged on the basis of the originality of the research, technical rigor, relevance and impact to future theory or applications. 

The first place winner receives a monetary award.  The first place winner and finalists  present their work in a dedicated session at the annual conference.

Application process:

For more information, please click HERE.

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Negin Golrezaei Vahideh Manshadi, Yale School of Management
Jon Schneider Shreyas Sekar
Daniel F. Otero-Leon, University of Michigan Mariel Lavieri, University of Michigan Brian T. Denton, University of Michigan Jeremy Sussman, University of Michigan Rodney A. Hayward, University of Michigan
2023 Finalist
Belleh Fontem Megan Price, University of Mary Washington
2022 Winner(s)
Karmel S. Shehadeh, Lehigh University
2022 Finalist
León Valdés Kaitlin M. Daniels, Washington University in Saint Louis
Destenie Nock, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA
Shuchen Cong, Carnegie Mellon University
Yueming Lucy Qiu, University of Maryland College Park
Bo Xing, Salt River Project
2021 First Place
Michele Samorani, Leavey School of Business, Santa Clara University Shannon L. Harris, Virginia Commonwealth University
Linda Goler Blount, Black Women's Health Imperative
Haibing Lu, Santa Clara University
Michael A. Santoro, Santa Clara University
2021 Finalist
Tanzid Hasnain, North Carolina State University
Irem Sengul Orgut, Lenovo Julie S. Ivy
Chamsi Hssaine, Cornell University
Noemie Perivier, Columbia University
Samantha Samaranayake, Cornell University
Siddhartha Banerjee, Cornell University
2020 Winner(s)
Luyi Yang Laurens Debo, Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth Varun Gupta,  University of Chicago, Booth School of Business
Gian-Gabriel P. Garcia, University of Michigan – Ann Arbor
Mariel Lavieri, University of Michigan Ruiwei Jiang, University of Florida Michael A. McCrea, Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI
Thomas W. McAllister, Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis, IN
Steven P. Broglio, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI
CARE Consortium Investigators
2020 Finalist
Destenie Nock, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA
Todd Levin, Argonne National Laboratory, Chicago, IL
Erin Baker, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Jennifer Mendoza-Alonzo, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL
José Zayas-Castro, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL
Hadi Charkhgard, University of Newcastle
2019 Winner(s)
Shadi Sharif Azadeh, Erasmus University Rotterdam Michel Bierlaire, École Polytechnique Yousef Maknoon, Delft University of Technology, Faculty of technology Policy and Management
2019 Finalist
İ. Esra Büyüktahtakın Emmanuel des-Bourdes, Wichita State University, Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering
Eyyub Kibis, The College of Saint Rose, Albany, School of Business
Jessye Talley, Morgan State University, Department of Industrial & Systems Engineering
Lauren Davis, North Carolina A&T State University, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
Liping Liu, North Carolina A&T State University, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
2019 Runner-Up
Andrew Daw, Cornell University, School of Operations Research and Information Engineering
Jamol Pender, Princeton University
2018 Winner(s)
Ragavendran Gopalakrishnan, Cornell University
Sherwin Doroudi, Carnegie Mellon University
Amy R. Ward, The University of Chicago Booth School of Business
Adam Wierman, Carnegie Mellon University
2018 Finalist
Canan G. Corlu, Boston University
Bahar Biller, GE Global Research Center
Sridhar Tayur, Carnegie Mellon University, Tepper School of Business
Karen T. Hicklin Julie S. Ivy Fay Cobb Payton, North Carolina State University
Meera Viswanathan, RTI International
Evan Myers, Duke University
Belleh Fontem Sharif H. Melouk, University of Alabama
Burcu B. Keskin, University of Alabama Naeem Bajwa, University of Arkansas at Little Rock
2017 First Place
Michelle McGaha Alvarado, Texas A&M University Student Chapter Lewis Ntaimo, Texas A&M University
2017 Honorable Mention
Laquanda Leaven, North Carolina A&T State University Xiuli Qu, North Carolina A&T State University
2016 First Place
Belleh Fontem