Best Working Paper Award

2019 First Place

Winning material: Mitigating the Negative Effects of Customer Anxiety through Access to Human Contact

Purpose of the Award

The goal of this Competition is to highlight the best working papers in the area of Behavioral Operations.

The awards will be given annually at the INFORMS Annual meeting and will recognize papers as follows:

  • First prize (recognized with a certificate or plaque, and a $500 prize)
  • Second prize (recognized with a certificate or plaque)
  • Honorable mention (recognized with a certificate or plaque)

Application Process

View information about eligibility, procedures and deadlines
Click here for more information

Past Awardees

2019 First Place
Michelle Shell, Harvard Business School

Ryan Buell
2019 Second Place
Michael Becker-Peth, RSM, Erasmus University
Kai Hoberg, Kühne Logistics University
Margarita Protopappa-Sieke, University of Cologne Germany
2019 Third Place
Park Sinchaisri, Wharton
Gad Allon, Northwestern University Maxime C. Cohen
2018 First Place
Andrew Davis Kyle Hyndman
2018 Second Place
Ruthy Beer Ignacio Rios, Stanford University Daniela Saban, Stanford University
2018 Third Place
Daniel Feller Jordan Tong
2017 First Place
Ruomeng Cui, Emory University
Jun Li, University of Michigan
Dennis Zhang, Washington University in St. Louis
2017 Second Place
Bhavani Shanker Uppari Sameer Hasija, INSEAD
2017 Honorable Mention
Eric Park, School of Business, University of Hong Kong, Pok Fu Lam, Hong Kong
Yichuan Ding, Sauder School of Business, University of British Columbia
Mahesh Nagarajan, Sauder School of Business, University of British Columbia
Eric Grafstein, Providence Health Care and Vancouver Coastal Health
2016 Winner(s)
Javad Nasiry, INSEAD Xiaoyang Long Yaozhong Wu
2016 Second Place
Jingqi Wang Yong-Pin Zhou, University of Washington
2016 Honorable Mention
Evgeny Kagan Stephen Leider William Lovejoy, University of Michigan Ross School of Business
2015 Winner(s)
Ernan Haruvy Elena Katok, Pennsylvania State University Valery Pavlov
2015 Second Place
Tim Kraft, University of Virginia León Valdés Yanchong Zheng
2014 Honorable Mention
Vishal Agrawal Atalay Atasu Koert van Ittersum, University of Groningen
2014 Runner-Up
Stephen Leider Andrew Davis