MSOM Practice Based Research Competition

2019 First Place

Winning material: Data-driven optimization for commodity procurement under price uncertainty

Purpose of the Award

The objectives of the M&SOM Practice-Based Research Competition are to motivate, help develop, reward and highlight high-quality OM research papers with significant practical relevance, and to publish these papers in the M&SOM Journal. 

Application Process

View information about eligibility and procedures, click here.


Related questions should be sent to both Jérémie Gallien (Competition Chair) and Salome Shaw-Moretti (Assistant) at and

Past Awardees

2019 First Place
Christian Mandl, Technical University of Munich/ School of Management
Stefan Minner, Technical University of Munich/ School of Management
2019 Honorable Mention
Georgia Perakis, MIT/ Sloan School of Management
Kiran Panchamgam Lennart Baardman Setareh Borjian Boroujeni,
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Tamar Cohen-Hillel
Eduard Calvo, University of Navarra/ IESE business school
Laura Wagner, University Cat´olica Portuguesa Ruomeng Cui, Emory University
2017 First Place
Turgay Ayer, University of Wisconsin, Madison Can Zhang, Georgia Institute of Technology Chenxi Zeng, Georgia Institute of Technology and Amazon Web Services Chelsea C. White III, Georgia Institute of Technology Roshan Joseph, University of Michigan
Hongmin Li, Arizona State University
Scott Webster, Arizona State University
Nicholas Mason, Intel Corporation
Karl Kempf, Intel Corporation
2017 Honorable Mention
Pavithra Harsha, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Shivaram Subramanian, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center Joline Uichanco
2017 Finalist
Kejia Hu, Vanderbilt University
Jason Acimovic, Penn State University Francisco Erize, Dell, Inc.
Doug Thomas, University of Virginia
Jan A. Van Mieghem, Northwestern University, Kellogg School of Management
Marshall Fisher, University of Pennsylvania Chloe Kim Glaeser, University of Pennsylvania
Xuanming Su, University of California - Berkeley, Haas School of Business
Eva Regnier, Naval Postgraduate School Cameron MacKenzie, Iowa State University