Dissertation Prize -- Application Process

Nominations are invited for this year's Dissertation Prize Competition, sponsored by the INFORMS Society on Transportation Science and Logistics. This award is the oldest and most prestigious honor for doctoral dissertations in the transportation science and logistics area. The award is accompanied by a $500 honorarium for the winner. In addition, the winner and the recipient of an honorable mention (if any) each receives an 8x10 plaque announcing the award.
The following criteria will be used in judging candidate dissertations.

  • Fundamental contribution and originality of the ideas or methods.
  • Practical importance or applicability in solving important real problems.
  • Clarity and excellence of the exposition.

Eligible doctoral dissertations are those completed and submitted between June 1, 2016 and May 31, 2017 in the general area of transportation science and logistics.

To be considered, a dissertation must be nominated by the thesis supervisor, who should submit the following items, all electronically in Adobe PDF format with the shown filenames:

  • An electronic copy of the letter of nomination from the dissertation supervisor supporting the submission and stating his/her assessment of why the thesis is worthy of the award (candidate name-NL.pdf),
  • An electronic abstract of 300 words without formulas or mathematical notation (candidate name-SA.pdf),
  • An electronic copy of the extended abstract (3-5 pages), separate from the thesis (candidate name-EA.pdf), and
  • An electronic copy of the dissertation (candidate name-D.pdf).

The above documents should be submitted in a single PDF or ZIP file online using the following URL: https://dropitto.me/2017-TSL-Dissertation-Prize
An upload password will be required. The password is: submission

Once you have completed your submission, please send an e-mail to uster@smu.edu indicating the name of the file that contains the materials submitted. The deadline for receipt of submissions is June 30, 2017. The recommendations of the judges will be announced at the INFORMS Annual Meeting during the TSL business meeting.

2017 Committee Members

Sandra Eksioglu
Industrial Engineering
Clemson University
Dirk Mattfeld
Business Information Systems
University of Braunschweig
Yu Marco Nie
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Northwestern University
Fernando Ordonez
Industrial Engineering
Universidad de Chile