DAS Publication Award Application Process

The Decision Analysis Society Publication Award is given annually to the best decision-analysis journal article or book published in the second preceding calendar year, as judged by an award committee. For example, publications appearing in the year 2015 are eligible for consideration in the year 2017. For this award, decision analysis is defined as a prescriptive approach to provide insight for decision making based on axioms that are logically consistent with the axioms of von Neumann and Morgenstern and of Savage. Key constructs of decision analysis are utility (to quantify one’s risk preferences) and probability (to quantify the state of one's knowledge).

The intent of the award is to recognize the best publication in decision analysis. Contributions could include, but are not limited to, theoretical, methodological, and procedural contributions to decision analysis, descriptions of applications, and experimental studies. Publications addressing behavioral aspects of decision making are eligible if the relevance to the theory or practice of prescriptive decision analysis is clear.

Nominated publications will be judged for significance, relevance, originality, and readability. The award includes an honorarium of $750 and a plaque.

Application Process

Submission deadline: June 15, 2017

We are accepting nominations for the Decision Analysis Society’s Publication Award. Papers or books published in 2015 are eligible. Please submit your nomination(s) to Vicki Bier (Committee chair) at bier@engr.wisc.edu by June 15.

A complete nomination consists of the following:

• Author's name(s)

• Full journal citation or book title

• Copy of the publication, preferably in electronic form

• Strongly encouraged: A short statement (1 page or less) summarizing why the publication should be considered for the award

• Optional: Testimonials by those who have benefited from the work

Self-nominations are permissible. The Publication Award Committee members (Erin Baker, Manel Baucells, Vicki Bier, and Jagpreet Chhatwal) may also nominate publications.

2017 Committee Chair

Vicki Bier