MSOM Student Paper Competition

2023 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

This award is given annually for papers judged to be the best in the field of Operations Management.


To see the past winning papers, click on the author's name.

Click here for award application information. 

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
Alp Sungu, London Business School
2023 Second Place
Cagin Uru, Fuqua School of Business, Duke University
2023 Honorable Mention
Leann Thayaparan, MIT
Zhiyu Zeng, Department of Industrial Engineering, Tsinghua University, China
2023 Finalist
Tobias Lieberum, Technical University of Munich
Zhikun Lu, Goizueta Business School, Emory University
2022 First Place
Pia Ramchandani, Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
2022 Second Place
Jackie Baek, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2022 Finalist
Tianyi Peng, MIT
Alp Sungu, London Business School
Chengcheng Zhai, Kelley School of Business, Indiana University
Ian Yihang Zhu, National University of Singapore
2021 First Place
Jong Myeong Lim, University of Pennsylvania
2021 Second Place
Achraf Bahamou, Columbia University Scott Rodilitz, Yale School of Management
2021 Finalist
Esmaeil Keyvanshokooh , Department of Industrial and Operations Engineering, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Manqi Li, University of Michigan Nian Si, Stanford University
2020 First Place
 Arielle Anderer , University of Pennsylvania
2020 Second Place
Nikhil Garg, Stanford University
2020 Finalist
Ruoxuan Xiong, Stanford University
Nazli Sonmez, London Business School

Inki Sul, University of Texas at Dallas
2019 Winner(s)
Mila Nambiar, MIT
2019 Second Place
Dmitry Mitrofanov, Leonard N. Stern School of Business, New York University
2019 Finalist
Kraig Delana, LBS
Jiding Zhang, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Zhaowei She , Georgia Institute of Technology
2018 First Place
Sajad Modaresi, Duke University
2018 Second Place
Bhavani Shanker Uppari
2018 Finalist
Taylor Corcoran, UCLA
Pornpawee Bumpensanti , Georgia Institute of Technology
2017 First Place
Can Zhang, Georgia Institute of Technology
2017 Second Place
Jiankun Sun, Northwestern University
2017 Finalist
Yixin Iris Wang, University of Michigan
Guihua Wang, University of Texas at Dallas
Wenqi Hu, Columbia Business School
Antoine Desir, Columbia University
2016 First Place
Michael Freeman
Hamsa Bastani, University of Pennsylvania
2016 Finalist
Negin Golrezaei
Weiming Zhu, University of Navarra
Guihua Wang, University of Texas at Dallas
2015 First Place
Ashish Kabra, INSEAD
2015 Second Place
Daniela Saban, Stanford University
2015 Finalist
Fei Gao, University of Pennsylvania
Safak Yucel, McDonough School of Business, Georgetown University
Tugce Martagan, Eindhoven University of Technology
2014 First Place
Yonatan Gur, Columbia University
Jónas Oddur Jónasson, London Business School
2014 Finalist
Antoine Desir, Columbia University
Karthik Murali, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Yaron Shaposhnik, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Linwei Xin, University of Chicago
2013 First Place
Song-Hee Kim, Columbia University
Xuan Wang, New York University
2013 Finalist
Dragos Ciocan, MIT
Nitish Jain, INSEAD
Anyan Qi, University of Michigan
John Yao, Columbia University
2012 First Place
Yina Lu
Soroush Saghafian, Harvard University
2012 Finalist
Sang Won Kim, Columbia University
Buket Avci, INSEAD
Emre Nadar, Bilkent University
Bar Ifrach, Stanford University
2011 First Place
Jun Li, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
2011 Second Place
Turgay Ayer, Georgia Institute of Technology
2011 Finalist
Robert L. Bray, Stanford University
Kenan Arifoglu, Northwestern University

Morvarid Rahmani, Anderson School of Management, UCLA
Sam Aflaki, INSEAD
2010 First Place
Srikanth Jagabathula, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2010 Second Place
Mazhar Arikan, Purdue University
2010 Finalist
Jose Guajardo, University of Pennsylvania Sripad Devalkar, University of Michigan Sam Aflaki, INSEAD Anicham Kumarasamy, Stanford University
2009 First Place
Denis Saure, University of Pittsburgh
2009 Second Place
Mehmet Begen, University of British Columbia
2009 Finalist
Onesun Yoo, UCLA
Ying Rong, Lehigh University
Biyu He, Stanford University
Ali Ekici, Georgia Institute of Technology
2008 First Place
Jagpreet Chhatwal, Merck Research Laboratories
2008 Second Place
Guoming Lai, Carnegie Mellon University
2007 First Place
Tong Wang, INSEAD
2007 Second Place
Soo-Haeng Cho, Carnegie Mellon University
2007 Honorable Mention
Gongtao (Lucy) Chen, National University of Singapore
Richard Lai, Harvard Business School
Pamela Pen-Erh Pei, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Shanshan Hu, University of Michigan Ross School of Business
2006 First Place
Itai Gurvich, Cornell University
2006 Second Place
Vivek Farias, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Sarang Deo, Indian School of Business
2006 Honorable Mention
Ozgun Caliskan Demirag, Georgia Institute of Technology
Sang-Hyun Kim, University of Pennsylvania
Chris P. Lee, University of Pennsylvania
2005 First Place
Owen Wu, Indiana University
2005 Second Place
Guillaume Roels, UCLA Anderson School of Management
Ping Josephine Xu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2005 Honorable Mention
Richard Lai, Harvard Business School
Qian Liu, Columbia University
Gigi Yuen, Northwestern University
2004 First Place
Retsef Levi, Cornell University Martin Pal, Cornell University
2004 Second Place
Ravi Subramanian, Scheller College of Business, Georgia Tech
2004 Honorable Mention
Xinxin Hu, University of Michigan
2004 Finalist
Gad Allon, The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania
Felipe Caro, UCLA
Holly Lutze, University of Texas
2003 First Place
Amar Sapra, Cornell University
2003 Second Place
Jiri Chod, University of Rochester
2003 Honorable Mention
Aydin Alptekinoglu, UCLA
Li Chen, Stanford University
Gurhan Kok, Duke University
2002 First Place
Xinxin Hu, University of Michigan
2002 Second Place
Xin Chen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Woonghee Tim Huh, Cornell University
2002 Finalist
Natalia Golovachkina, Cornell University
Justin Ren, Boston University
Jinxin Yi, CMU
2001 First Place
Kevin H. Shang, University of California, Irvine
2001 Second Place
Gustavo Vulcano, Columbia University
Rene Caldentey, New York University
2000 First Place
Jeremie Gallien, MIT
2000 Second Place
Serguei Netessine, INSEAD
2000 Finalist
Michael Fry, University of Michigan Maher Lahmar, University of Minnesota Sergie Savin, Columbia University
1999 First Place
L. Beril Toktay, MIT
1999 Second Place
Prashant Fuloria, Stanford University
Itir Karaesmen, Columbia University
1999 Honorable Mention
Apurva Jain, Purdue University
James Treharne, Auburn University
1998 First Place
Xiaomei Ding, University of British Columbia
1998 Second Place
Jeremie Gallien, MIT
1998 Honorable Mention
Carolos Bispo, Carnegie Mellon University John Hollywood, MIT
1997 First Place
Daniel Adelman, University of Chicago
1997 Second Place
Roman Kapuscinski, University of Michigan Ross School of Business
1997 Honorable Mention
Scott Carr, University of California-Los Angeles
Kaan Katircioglu
1996 First Place
Stefanos A. Zenios, Stanford University
1996 Second Place
Siddharth Mahajan